Book Tickets Online
Church Island is a small island on Lough Beg - 1.5 miles from Bellaghy. The later medieval church that stands today, was built on the site of an earlier monastic settlement, thought to have been founded by St Taoide (St Thaddeus). A Bullaun Stone dating from this early settlement, is located close to the shoreline, to the south of the graveyard.
The tower and spire were built for Lord Bishop Hervey of Derry in the late 1700's, to be seen from his house at Ballyscullion, and remains an iconic landmark to this day.
Protected Nature Reserve. Grazing Livestock.No public access No dogs permitted.
Free parking and viewpoint is provided at Longpoint Wood.
Parking & Transport
- Parking (free)
- Free (parking charges may apply)