Official travel trade website for Northern Ireland
En

Limavady Workhouse

Irish Green Street, Limavady, County Londonderry, BT49 0AQ
An image of Limavady Workhouse

Book Tickets Online

About

Opened in 1842, the Limavady Union Workhouse is reported to be one of the best preserved buildings of its type in the whole of Ireland. Jimmy McCurry, the blind fiddler who brought the melody of Danny Boy to the ears of Jane Ross and initiated its journey to become one of the world’s most famous songs, is said to have died in Limavady Workhouse. It became the Limavady Cottage Hospital in 1932 and retained this function until 1998.

Owned now by Limavady Community Development Initiative, guided tours are made by appointment, during which visitors can view the Workhouse Gate Lodge where new entrants were received, one of the dormitories and the dining area. The Pauper’s Graveyard is an integral and poignant part of the tour. Interpretation is available within the Gate Lodge.

Facilities

Attraction Facilities

  • Open Mondays

Establishment Features

  • Accept coach parties
  • Guided Tours Available
  • Toilets

Parking & Transport

  • On site parking

Provider Preferences

  • Free (parking charges may apply)

Map & Directions

Opening Times

* Tours of the workhouse available by prior appointment

What's Nearby

  1. Trees with the sun setting in the background

    Rough Fort, on the Limavady to Ballykelly road, is a remarkable earthwork construction…

    1.13 miles away
  2. Roe Valley Country Park

    This scenic and tranquil park on the outskirts of Limavady offers spectacular riverside…

    1.61 miles away
  3. Broighter Gold Économusée

    Have you ever wondered how Broighter Gold Rapeseed Oil make their award-winning Liquid…

    2.36 miles away
Previous Next

Map

Back to Top

Tourism Northern Ireland